Athletes' Forum and 5th European Assembly

Publication date: 01/01/2017
The forum was marked by several meetings, notably the organisation of the 2nd European Games in 2019 in Minsk, Belarus …

"Athletes are at the heart of the Olympic Movement and must remain there."

On Friday, H.S.H. Prince Albert II addressed the hundred Olympians from the fifty National Olympic Committees of Europe.   A member of the International Olympic Committee since 1985, President of the Monegasque Olympic Committee since 1994, former Vice-President of the IOC Athletes' Commission (1989-2008), then Honorary Member until 2015, H.S.H. the Sovereign Prince recalled that the 2020 Agenda (approved at the 127th Session of the IOC in 2014 in Monaco) is "the strategic roadmap that shapes the future of the Olympic Movement. Through the 40 recommendations, more importance is placed on protecting athletes, which we can only welcome.  Now is the time, more than ever, to implement these recommendations.  So, during these two days of debate, you will address many essential points, including the place and role of the Athletes' Commissions in the various bodies and the protection of athletes and their integrity." 

 And in conclusion: 

 As Olympians, most of whom have already been involved in the Institutions of your respective countries, you have clearly understood the importance of your role and responsibilities.  Athletes are at the heart of the Olympic Movement and must remain there.  That is why, through you, the main guidelines adopted by the IOC will be transmitted, at the continental, regional and national levels, and especially the local level.  

Note that the bureau of the 5th Assembly has been renewed as follows:  Gerd Kanter (Estonia, discus, Olympic champion in 2008, bronze medallist in 2012) is the new President of the European Athletes' Commission for the 2017-2021 term (he succeeds Jean-Michel Saive, Belgium - table tennis).  Balazs Baji (Hungary, Athletics, 2008-2012 Olympian) and David Harte (Ireland, Field Hockey) were elected Vice-President and Secretary respectively.

© - Government Communication Department/Manuel Vitali