Monte-Carlo Philharmonic Orchestra

Great Season Series: concert by the Monte-Carlo Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Andris Poga with Arabella Steinbacher, violin. On the programme: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and Piotr Ilyitch Tchaikovsky. As a prelude to the concert, presentation of the works at 5 pm by André PeyrègneSunday 24 November 2019, at 6 pm Auditorium Rainier III

Conductor: ANDRIS POGA

WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART (Concerto for violin n°5, Kv 219)
PIOTR ILYICH TCHAIKOVSKY (Manfred Symphony, opus 58)

This magnificent 5th Concerto is without doubt the best known and most accomplished of the 1775 series of concertos for violin, and embodies all of Mozart's masterful skills.

The dramatic poem by Byron forms the basis of the Manfred Symphony, quintessentially Tchaikovsky. Manfred is the archetypal tormented romantic figure, a kind of English "Faust " with the tumultuous destiny of a solitary hero, whose sufferings are soothed by heavenly forgiveness.

As a prelude to the concert, André Peyrègne will present the works at 5 pm.


Find out more