11th Monegasque Cancerology Biennale at the Grimaldi Forum Monaco

The medical congress will take place from 29 January to 1 February 2014

The 11th Monegasque Cancerology Biennale, which was founded in 1994 on the initiative of Dr Michel Héry, Head of the Radiotherapy and Oncology Department at the Princess Grace Hospital, will be held at the Grimaldi Forum Monaco from 29 January to 1 February 2014.

With 1,500 participants, more than 200 speakers and representatives from many learned societies, this Biennale is still the most important francophone cancerology congress.

Moreover, its Scientific Council is comprised of leading doctors who are renowned in their fields and for their published work.

The 11th Biennale will address numerous current aspects of the treatment of all types of cancer.  These include the development of Genomics and Biotechnology, the concept of Medico-economics, and monitoring personalised medical trials.

Of course, it will focus on all the advances in the treatment of a number of cancers (including breast cancer, lung cancer, prostate cancer, colorectal cancer, ovarian cancer, pancreatic cancer and gastric cancer).

An innovation for the 2014 congress will consist of studying interactive clinical cases (with a direct link to the speaker, with the aid of digital tablets), on topics as varied as sarcoma, cancer of the kidney and ovary and digestive cancers, plus a clinical case of a patient suffering from EGFR-mutated NSCLC.

During this medical congress, the prestigious Academy of Medicine will award the "Prince Albert Ier" prize, worth 5,000 euros.  The presentation will take place on Thursday 30 January at 7 p.m. in the Salle Empire (Empire Room) at the Hôtel de Paris.

The Prize was created in 1923 on the initiative of the great-great-grandfather of HSH the Sovereign Prince and has been financed since then by the Principality.  Every two years, it is presented to recognise "work that has progressed the diagnosis or treatment of cancer."  It is awarded by a jury made up of academics who are members of the Cancerology Commission.

Registration and further information: